Band of Brothers (movies)

I can’t remember the last time I have been so moved by a story. This movie has marked me. The juxtaposition of the worst that humanity can come up with (war) and the best (greater love/brotherhood/sacrifice) is beyond impacting. My admiration for that generation has gone through the roof.

The contrast to my own situation, my own problems, my own selfishness put many things into perspective. I have so far to go. I have so much to be thankful for.

The title comes from Shakespeare’s historical play Henry V. The invented words of Henry V just before the battle of Agincourt (25 October 1415):

From this day to the ending of the world,

But we in it shall be remembered-

We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;

For he today that sheds his blood with me

Shall be my brother.

Leave a Reply

