On Writing: Robert Caro

I love reading about writing. I especially like to read about how writers approach the craft, a la Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art. For real writers, it is work. That is the reason I’ll never be a writer.

So I enjoyed this excerpt (read the comments too) by Jonathan V. Last from this article on the process of Robert Caro, who has been working on the biography of LBJ for almost 50 years. I was fascinated and impressed with Caro’s series of steps in the formation of his work. I have to admit feeling some pity toward a man who has spent five decades writing about a man who, apparently from what is told about him, did not possess rich and deep character. Kind of a disappointing life-long project.

 

Leave a Reply

