Can You Relax?

tumblr_npnm5x7kPZ1tx9vazo1_500

Coming home for me

I love coming home. I love hearing, “Hi, daddy!” when I walk through the door.

In fact, often I haven’t opened my car door before Bella, the first-grader, is at my car window.

I love my wife puckered up when I walk in the kitchen. I love sitting down for dinner as a family.

The phrase that capsulates coming home for me is I can relax.

Relaxing routine

Four times a week our evenings follow the same routine.

A little after five o’clock we have dinner (at a table) as a family.

About six o’clock I start making coffee.

By six-thirty we are in the backroom, coffee in hand, ready to watch The Wheel of Fortune.

At seven o’clock everyone starts slipping into their pajamas (if they haven’t already).

This routine may sound boring to you. To me it is a picture of being able to relax.

Being able to relax means you can be yourself. Being able to relax means work is over.

Granted, there may be roles and responsibilities to fulfill. Even in the routine I just sketched above there are things to do, but I wouldn’t call it work.

There is an enjoyment in the process of the routine. Being able to relax means delighting in the moment.

Jesus at home

I think Jesus wants people to able to relax like this with him.

We find the imagery of home and table used many times in Scripture.

John uses the imagery of Jesus making his home with people in his incarnation, “The word became flesh and made his dwelling among us” (John 1:14).

The writer of Hebrews said, “Christ is faithful as a son over God’s house. And we are his house” (Hebrews 3:6).

Again, John recorded the vision of Jesus saying to the church of Laodicea, “If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me” (Revelation 3:20).

Can you relax with Jesus?

I love that passage in Hebrews 3 contrasting the house that Moses was over and to the house Jesus was over.

Referencing Psalm 95, the writer in Hebrews 3 essentially says, “There was a whole generation that Moses was over that was never able to come home and relax” (Hebrews 3:7-11).

The other house, the one Jesus is over, is available now for people to come into and relax.

However, it is still possible for people to needlessly wander and miss out on the experience of home and table.

Restless generation

The issues that restless generation struggled with can be the same issues with which you struggled.

That restless generation Moses was over struggled with hardened hearts (Hebrews 3:8). They were never convinced of God’s goodness and that he wanted the best for them. That can be your struggle too.

That restless generation struggled with straying hearts (Hebrews 3:10). They were always looking for other things to satisfy them apart from God. That can be your struggle too.

That restless generation struggled with unbelieving hearts. They really didn’t trust God. That can be your struggle too.

You can relax

So many of you stay at work and never come home. That is, you remain restless and are never able to relax. You battle with a constant sense of uneasiness and unrest.

Do you really trust that God is not at odds with you?

In Christ, there is peace between you and God. This peace with God should bestow the peace of God.

Have you really surrendered your self-effort?

There is not one thing you can do to satisfy God’s righteousness. In Christ, God’s expectations of you have been satisfied. God’s satisfaction should satisfy you.

Are you really living by God’s resources?

In Christ, all the resources of heaven have been shared with you. You don’t have to sustain yourself a day longer.

What would it be like to live in community, a family, that actually believed this? How different would people feel if they believed they were at home?

We’re safe at home. We can be our self. We can relax.

Title Signature Screenshot Cartoon 2015

Leave a Reply

